Home » The Foolscap Rose by Joseph Hergesheimer
The Foolscap Rose Joseph Hergesheimer

The Foolscap Rose

Joseph Hergesheimer

Published 1934
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Joseph Hergesheimer was a prominent American writer of the early 20th century known for his naturalistic novels of decadent life amongst the very wealthy.He established an early reputation with his first novel The Lay Anthony in 1914. Three Black Pennys, which followed in 1917, chronicled the fictional lives of three generations of Pennsylvania ironmasters and cemented the authors style of dealing with upperclass characters through a floridly descriptive style he referred to as aestheticism. Hergesheimer also received critical recognition for his novels Java Head (1919), Linda Condon (1919), and Balisand (1924).